PURQ (Pty) Ltd is a 100% owned subsidiary of the Purchasing Consortium Southern Africa NPC (PURCO SA). PURCO SA is a non-profit higher education group-purchasing consortium. It was established by and represents all South African public universities, as well as the University of Namibia, and the Namibia University of Science and Technology.

The consortium's 52 member institutions include Monash University, the Milpark Business School, Moonstone Business School, Independent Institute of Education, a growing number of TVET Colleges as well as associate members such as the CSIR, National Research Foundation, SABS, Mintek, Quality Council for Trade and Occupations, Umalusi, the Engineering Council of SA, the African Health Research Institute and CAPRISA, the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa.